+1 (218) 451-4151 info@writersnest.org

The Four Political Parties of Canada
In a country as vast and as culturally diverse as Canada, many different
political opinions can be found stretched across the country. From the affluent
neighbourhoods of West Vancouver to the small fishing towns located on the east
coast of Newfoundland, political opinions and affiliations range from the left
wing to the right wing. To represent these varying political views, Canada has
four official national political parties to choose from: the Liberals (who are
currently in power), the Progressive Conservatives, the New Democrats, and the
Reform Party. What is particularly interesting is that none of the latter three
parties compose Her Majesty’s Official Opposition in the House of Commons. The
Bloc Quebecois, a Quebec separatist party who only ran candidates in the
province of Quebec in the last federal election in 1993, won 54 seats in that
province, and claimed the title of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition over the
Reform Party, who garnered only 52 seats. Because the Bloc ran candidates only
in Quebec, it would be difficult to think of them being a national political
party, even though they hold a significant number of seats in the national
legislature. This paper will examine the significant early history of Canada’s
four main national political parties, and then will analyse their current state,
referring to recent major political victories/disasters, and the comparison of
major economic policy standpoi……