+1 (218) 451-4151 info@writersnest.org

Wheat is one of the number ones sources of fiber in the American diet. According to gluten.net (GIG) gluten is a storage protein that is found in all grains. The immune system response to this protein is called Gluten Sensitive Enteropathy or Celiac Disease. People with this sensitivity must adhere to a gluten-free diet and must avoid wheat, rye and barley products. This paper will examine gluten-free products and address the opinion that this emerging trend tastes as good as any other food with gluten in them.
Gluten is a protein that is found in wheat, oats, rye and barley. What most people don’t know is that wheat is also used in products from tomato soup to lip gloss to even shampoo. Most medications, art supplies and also in the body of Christ at Holy Communion. (Alicea, 2008). Unless items are certified to be gluten-free those with Celiac Disease cannot consume them. (Alicea, 2008)
Celiac Disease is an autoimmune response to gluten. (Alicea, 2008) In an article written in Long-Term Living: For the Continuing Care Professional. The article states, “ A person {with Celiac Dis…
… middle of paper …